Skip to product information
1 of 3


Minecraft - Volume Alpha

Minecraft - Volume Alpha

Ghostly International | CAT #: GI-243

  • Please read our policy carefully
  • Packaged with care in Whiplash Mailer or Equivalent
  • Ships within 3-7 Business Days
Regular price $153.98 USD
Regular price $164.99 USD Sale price $153.98 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • 2022 Repress Edition
  • Limited supply
  • Single LP pressed on Transparent Green Vinyl
  • Includes Digital Download
  • Pressed at GZ Media (130593E)
  • First released on vinyl on August 21, 2015

*Limit 1 per customer (No exception)

*Hype sticker does not specify "Limited Edition"


LABEL: Ghostly International
CAT NO: GI-243

  • Video Game Soundtrack
  • Soundtrack


Minecraft is a dreamscape, a limitless world where anything is possible. Minecraft is a tool, a means of bringing the imagination to life. Minecraft is a community, a platform on which inventive minds of all ages can share their creations and ideas. Minecraft, of course, is also a game, the most popular and best-selling video game of all time. Created in 2009 by Swedish programmer Markus "Notch" Persson, this cultural phenomenon speaks volumes of our current zeitgeist's love for virtual spaces, but its unprecedented success couldn't be pinned on one factor alone. Countless layers of thoughtful artistry flow through Minecraft's singular experience, not the least of which is its transportive soundtrack. And now for the first time since releasing digitally in 2011, the music of Minecraft will be issued on vinyl and CD by Ghostly International.

Minecraft Volume Alpha, the first installment of a two-part OST, is the work of German composer and musician Daniel Rosenfeld. Using C418 as his moniker, Rosenfeld crafted the sweeping soundtrack and vibrant sound design which helped breathe life into Minecraft's voxel-based universe. Fans and critics were universally enamored with his beatless, nuanced electronic pieces upon release. Popular gaming site Kotaku named it among The Best Game Music of 2011, calling the music "remarkably soothing," and The Guardian has compared Rosenfeld's delicate piano and sparse ambient motifs to legendary artists Erik Satie and Brian Eno. In an interview feature with C418, Polygon distilled Volume Alpha to its essence: "It's not bound by the retro aesthetic of Minecraft's graphics. It transcends them. The album is an attempt to uplift the combined game/music experience into the sublime."

But for all of the critical praise, C418's crowning achievement has to be his insatiable fan base, the seemingly endless swath of players and listeners who treat his music like gospel. They are exactly who this physical release of the Minecraft soundtrack was conceived for, though Ghostly hopes to bring Rosenfeld's music to a whole new audience as well. As any cursory listen of the touching sounds will reveal, this isn't a record meant solely for lifelong gamers and MineCon diehards; anyone in love with ambient, neo-classical, or minimal music needs to hear Volume Alpha.


1. Key
2. Door
3. Subwoofer Lullaby
4. Death
5. Living Mice
6. Moog City
7. Haggstrom
8. Minecraft
9. Oxygène
10. Équinoxe
11. Mice On Venus
12. Dry Hands
13. Wet Hands
14. Clark
15. Chris
16. Thirteen
17. Excuse
18. Sweden
19. Cat
20. Dog
21. Danny
22. Beginning
23. Droopy Likes Ricochet
24. Droopy Likes Your Face




View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
GI-243 - C418 - Minecraft - Volume Alpha
LP / Translucent GreenGI-243-GN-TL
LP / Translucent GreenGI-243-GN-TL
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sale price