Skip to product information
1 of 8

Michael Abels

Us (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Us (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Waxwork Records | CAT #: WW072

  • Please read our policy carefully
  • Packaged with care in Whiplash Mailer or Equivalent
  • Ships within 3-7 Business Days
Regular price $44.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $44.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • The Complete Score By Michael Abels
  • 180 Gram "The Untethering" Colored Vinyl
  • Interactive Gatefold Jacket w/ Satin Coating
  • Die-Cut Mirror Board Back Cover
  • Art By Edward Kinsella
  • Liner Notes By Shana L. Redmond Ph.D.
  • Heavyweight 11"x11" Art Print


ARTIST: Michael Abels
LABEL: Waxwork Records

  • Soundtrack
  • Horror Soundtrack


Waxwork Records is proud to present the Us Original Motion Picture Soundtrack featuring a score by composer Michael AbelsUs, released in March 2019, is an original nightmare written, directed and produced by Academy Award®-winning visionary Jordan Peele (Get Out). Set in present-day Santa Cruz on the iconic Northern California coastline, the filmstarring Oscar® winner Lupita Nyong’o and Black Panther’s Winston Duke, pits an ordinary American family against a terrifying and uncanny opponent: doppelgängers of themselves.

Abels featured a 30-person choir, a third of them children, in the “Anthem,” and implemented Eastern European instruments, violins, percussion, and a virtual instrument called a Propanium drum. “It makes this trashy metal sound, but you can also play melodies on it,” Abels said. “The Propanium drum has a sound that’s both otherworldly but not electronic or like science fiction. It’s a sound you can’t quite put your finger on, which is why it works well in this film.”

Also included on the soundtrack is the 1995 hip-hop hit “I Got 5 On It” by Luniz and the stand-out track “I Like That” by Janelle Monáe. Abels also helped with a new arrangement of the Luniz hit, which is featured on the soundtrack as the ‘Tethered Mix from Us’.

Waxwork is thrilled to present the soundtrack and score as a deluxe double LP featuring 180-gram "The Untethering” Red, Brass, and White split-colored vinyl. The album artwork was created by illustrator Edward Kinsella. The interactive packaging includes die-cut inner gatefold jackets that require customers to use scissors to cut through family-member portraits to reveal their tethered doppelgängers lurking in the shadows on the printed inner sleeves housed within. More deluxe items include a die-cut mirror board back cover, a heavyweight 11”x11” art print, and an exclusive essay by UCLA Professor, scholar, and activist Shana L. Redmond Ph.D., author of Anthem: Social Movements and the Sound of Solidarity in the African Diaspora

* Scissors not included


1. Anthem
2. I Like That – Janelle Monáe
3. Outernet
4. Spider
5. Ballet Memory
6. I Got 5 On It (feat. Michael Marshall) – Luniz
7. Beach Walk
8. First Man Standing
9. Back to the House
10. Keep You Safe
11. Don’t Feel Like Myself
12. She Tried to Kill Me
13. Boogieman’s Family
14. Home Invasion
15. Once Upon a Time
16. Run
17. Into the Water
18. Spark in the Closet
19. Escape to the Boat
20. Femme Fatale
21. Silent Scream
22. News Report
23. Zora Drives
24. Death of Umbrae
25. Somber Ride
26. Immolation
27. Down the Rabbit Hole
28. Performance Art
29. Human
30. Battle Plan
31. Pas de Deux
32. They Can’t Hurt You
33. Finale
34. Les Fleurs – Minnie Riperton
35. I Got 5 On It (feat. Michael Marshall) [Tethered Mix from US] – Luniz



Alto Vocals – Baraka May, Clydene Jackson, Edie Lehmann Boddicker, Lesley Leighton
Art Direction – Kevin Bergeron
Artwork [Album Artwork By] – Edward Kinsella
Baritone Vocals – Alex Blake, Dylan Gentile, Michael Geiger, Reid Bruton, Will Goldman
Bass – William "BJ" Johnson, Ed Meares, Oscar Hidalgo
Bass [1st Chair] – Mike Valerio
Cello – Armen Ksajikian, Cecilia Tsan, Charles Tyler, Eric Byers, Giovanna Clayton, Jacob Braun, Julie Jung, Mike Kaufman, Tim Loo, Trevor Handy
Cello [Featured], Cello [1st Chair] – Vanessa Freebairn-Smith
Composed By, Music By, Performer, Orchestrated By – Michael Abels
Conductor – Pete Anthony
Contractor [Orchestra] – Gina Zimmitti
Contractor [Vocal] – Edie Lehmann Boddicker
Copyist [Music Preparation] – Booker White, Dave Giuli, Marshall Bowen
Editor [Assistant; Music] – DeVaughn Watts
Editor [Music] – Brett "Snacky" Pierce
Engineer [Recording], Mixed By – John Rodd
Executive-Producer [Executive in Charge of Music for Universal Pictures] – Mike Knobloch
Lacquer Cut By – Gonsa
Layout – Sue Ellen Soto
Legal [Music Business / Legal Affairs for Universal Pictures] – Tanya Perara
Liner Notes – Shana L. Redmond
Mastered By – Patricia Sullivan
Mastered By [for Vinyl] – Adam Gonsalves
Music By [Additional], Arranged By [Additional Arrangements] – David Das
Orchestrated By – Ed Trybek, Henri Wilkinson, Jonathan Beard
Percussion, Timpani – Wade Culbreath
Production Manager [Marketing / Production Director for Back Lot Music] – Andy Kalyvas, Nikki Walsh
Programmed By [Score], Music By [Additional] – Orlando Perez Rosso
Recorded By [Digital Score Recordist] – Larry Mah
Soprano Vocals – Elin Carlson, Elyse Willis, Holly Sedillos, Margaurite Mathis-Clark, Suzanne Waters
Supervised By [for Universal Pictures] – Angela Leus
Tenor Vocals – Charles Lane, Fletcher Sheridan, Gerald White, Todd Strange, Walt Harrah
Viola – Alma Fernandez, Carolyn Riley, Dave Walther, Erik Rynearson, Jerome Gordon, Jonathan Moerschel, Luke Maurer, Lynne Richburg, Matt Funes, Rob Brophy, Stefan Smith
Viola [1st Chair] – Shawn Mann
Violin – Ashoka Thiagarajan, Ben Jacobson, Bruce Dukov, Charlie Bisharat, Daphne Chen, Darius Campo, Eun Mee Ahn, Grace Oh, Jackie Brand, Jennifer Choi Fischer, Jessica Guideri, Josefina Vergara, Julie Gigante, Kevin Kumar, Marisa Kuney, Mark Robertson, Natalie Leggett, Nina Evtuhov, Phil Levy, Rocio Marron, Sarah Thornblade, Serena McKinney, Shalini Vijayan, Songa Lee, Tammy Hatwan, Tereza Stanislav
Violin [Featured] – Melissa White
Violin [Featured], Violin, Concertmaster – Alyssa Park
Violin [Principal 2nd] – Roger Wilkie
Vocals [Children's Choir] – Brandon Takahashi, Claira Titman, Emily Titman, Jack Terbush, Peyton Podgorski, Zola Vilshenker


View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
WW072 - Michael Abels - Us (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
2LP / Red / Brass / White SplitWW072-RDBNWH-SPT
2LP / Red / Brass / White SplitWW072-RDBNWH-SPT
$44.99/ea $0.00