Skip to product information
1 of 2

Gianni Safred

Electronic Designs [Import]

Electronic Designs [Import]

Four Flies Records | CAT #: FLIES61

  • BACKORDER NOTICE Please read our policy carefully
  • Est. Shipping Date: 1-6 Weeks
Regular price $32.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $32.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • 1xLP pressed on Classic Black Vinyl
  • Originally released in 1977
  • Remastered from the original analogue tapes
  • Featuring brand new artwork by Luke Insect


ARTIST: Gianni Safred
LABEL: Four Flies Records

  • Jazz


Entirely remastered from the original analogue tapes and featuring brand new artwork designed by Luke Insect, this Four Flies reissue finally brings back to life one of the most surprising albums from the strange phenomenon that was the Italian library music of the Seventies.

Gianni Safred’s Electronic Designswas released in 1977 on the Milanese label Jump, in their "Music Scene" series, simply as a collection of musical pieces intended for use in television programmes. However, hidden behind a nondescript cover were twelve electronic music tracks revealing a recognizable style of composition; twelve little gems masterly combining experimentation, catchiness and practical functionality thanks to a unified and unique style. Each through a specific mood, these tracks give expression to Safred’s distinctive sound, where irresistible mechanical grooves are over-layered with melodic lines perfectly played on a Polymoog or ARP Odyssey.

A native of Trieste, Safred started out with little swing bands soon after WW2, before eventually playing with great soloists like Django Rheinhardt. Ultimately, it is his background as a jazz pianist that makes Electronic Designs so special. As with other Italian jazzmen who got into synthesizers (above all, Piero Umiliani), Safred’s blend of complex harmonies and (quasi-) bebop virtuoso flourishes, with its obsessive repetitions and refined tone colours, gives a retro-futuristic quality to this library album, whose electronic music is light-years ahead of the ‘pop’ electronic music of the time and, in many ways, anticipates the best stylistic features of early-Nineties dance music.

Safred best expresses his experimental verve – and does a great job in creating the ‘electronic designs’ of the title – in "Mystification", "City Problems", "Trapdoor", "Planetarium" and "Poe’s Clock", all of which unfold through hypnotic beats and sinusoid or square wave explosions. In other tracks, however, the compositional style is less unconventional, with relaxed yet not banal atmospheres ("Spheres", "Elastic Points", "Sacred Interlude"), as well as flashes of irresistible groove inspired by Herbie Hancock’s more pop-oriented work ("Automation Age", "Jazz Motion Study", "Bottom Up"). The album’s masterpiece is arguably "Hasty Chant", a detective-funk ride with an unforgettable theme, which manages to pull all of the album’s various strands into a cohesive whole – as a side note, the allusive and apt description of the song on the back cover reads:Things are happening.


1. Automation Age
2. Mystification
3. City Problems
4. Spheres
5. Trapdoor
6. Hasty Chant
7. Elastic Points
8. Sacred Interlude
9. Jazz Motion Study
10. Planetarium
11. Bottom Up
12. Poe's Clock




View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
Electronic Designs [Import]
LP / BlackFLIES61-BK
LP / BlackFLIES61-BK
$32.99/ea $0.00