Skip to product information
1 of 3


1992 - 2001

1992 - 2001

Light in the Attic Records | CAT #: LITA 159

  • Please read our policy carefully
  • Packaged with care in Whiplash Mailer or Equivalent
  • Ships within 3-7 Business Days
Regular price $42.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $42.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • 2023 Color Edition pressed on Pool Haze wax
  • First-time band anthology
  • Includes 9 unreleased tracks
  • Audio restored and remastered from original tapes
  • Double LP housed in a gatefold jacket
  • Liner notes by Sam Sweet


ARTIST: Acetone
LABEL: Light in the Attic Records

  • Rock
  • Indie Rock


“Acetone is into it for what they get out of it. Their music reflects who they are, and that’s so rare in music today. It’s a soul music thing.” – Jason Pierce (Spiritualized)

“Acetone is one of my all-time favorite bands. Their music is still as electrifying and beautiful now as it was back then.” – Hope Sandoval (Mazzy Star)

“A lovely mix of what would it be like if Dick Dale and Neil Young played with Isaac Hayes and The Velvet Underground. A seminal American band.” – Richard Ashcroft (The Verve)

This fall, the independent literary press All Night Menu will publish Sam Sweet’s Hadley Lee Lightcap, a nonfiction novel that traces the backstories of the three members in Acetone, a band that played in Los Angeles for nine years. Though few heard them, their recordings are time capsules of who they were, how they lived, and where they came from. Light In the Attic has partnered with All Night Menu to present Acetone 1992-2001, the first anthology of the trio’s music. The book and the album will be released concurrently on September 22.

Counting their early years in the scuzz-rock band Spinout, whose sole self-titled release came out in 1991 on Delicious Vinyl, guitarist Mark Lightcap, bassist Richie Lee, and drummer Steve Hadley played together for a total of 15 years. They disbanded in July 2001, when Lee committed suicide in the garage next to the house where the trio practiced. Afterward, Rolling Stone ran a short obituary saying Acetone’s albums were “well received” but “failed to make any waves.” It was the first and only time they were featured in the national music press.

Between 1993 and 2001 the trio released two LPs and an EP on Vernon Yard—a Virgin subsidiary—and two LPs on Vapor, the L.A.-based label founded by Neil Young and manager Elliott Roberts. In that span, they were selected to tour with Oasis, Mazzy Star, The Verve, and Spiritualized. Against a rising tide of post-Nirvana grunge and slipshod indie rock, Acetone tapped into a timeless Southern California groove by fusing elements of psychedelia, surf, and country.

They rehearsed endlessly in an empty bedroom in northeast Los Angeles, recording hours of music onto cassettes that were subsequently stuffed into shoeboxes and left in a shed behind the drummer’s house. Those tapes are being released for the first time in this anthology, which also includes highlights from Acetone’s official releases. Taken together, the songs form a companion soundtrack to Sam Sweet’s book, which maps the character of Los Angeles as a place through the lens of these three unique characters bonded by music.

“I think our music is all about moods and feeling but hopefully it will get as weird as it possibly can,” said Richie Lee in 1997. “We want things to get weird in the way that you could hear an Acetone song and know that no one else in the world could make that kind of music but us.”


1. Shaker
2. All The Time
3. Louise
4. Return From The Ice
5. How Sweet I Roamed
6. Germs
7. Shore Power
8. Always Late
9. Things Are Gonna Be Alright (demo)
10. Midnight Cowboy
11. Chew
12. Too Much Time
13. Vibrato
14. Pico
15. Stray (demo)
16. Smokey



  • Bass, Vocals – Richie Lee
  • Drums – Steve Hadley
  • Guitar, Vocals, Steel Guitar – Mark Lightcap
  • Liner Notes – Hope Sandoval, Jason Pierce, Richard Ashcroft, Sam Sweet
  • Photography By [Front Cover & Back Cover] – Steve Hadley
  • Remastered By – John Baldwin
  • Written-By – Richie Lee, Steve Hadley


View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
1992 - 2001 - Acetone | Helix Sounds
2LP / BlueLITA159-BL
2LP / BlueLITA159-BL
$42.99/ea $0.00
1992 - 2001 - Acetone | Helix Sounds
2LP / BlackLITA159-BK
2LP / BlackLITA159-BK
Sold Out
$37.99/ea $0.00

View cart

Total items


Product subtotal

Taxes, Discounts and shipping calculated at checkout
View cart