Skip to product information
1 of 2

Ron Goodwin & Henry Mancini

Frenzy (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [Import]

Frenzy (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [Import]

Quartet Records | CAT #: QRLP40

  • PREORDER NOTICE Please read our policy carefully
  • Est. Shipping Date:
  • Packaged with care in Whiplash Mailer or Equivalent
Regular price $52.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $52.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • 2xLP pressed on audiophile Black Vinyl
  • Premiere edition of Ron Goodwin score and Henry Mancini rejected score for Hitchcock's timeless classic
  • Mastered by Mike Matessino


ARTIST: Ron Goodwin & Henry Mancini
LABEL: Quartet Records

  • Soundtrack
  • Film Score
  • Modern Classical


Quartet Records and Universal Pictures Film Music Classics Collection proudly present the world premiere vinyl release of both the used and unused scores for Alfred Hitchcock’s FRENZY, celebrating the 50th anniversary of the film.

FRENZY marked the director’s triumphant return to London in 1972. With an excellent script by Anthony Shaffer, the film was immediately considered one of Hitchcock’s best and has since become a classic.

After the parting of ways with Bernard Herrmann, Hitchcock changed composers in each of his last four films, choosing from those who were popular at the time. For FRENZY, his first choice was Henry Mancini (BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’S, THE PINK PANTHER, HATARI!, CHARADE), who wrote a sumptuous, gothic-hued score featuring an unusual orchestral palette. The main theme uses the dolorous tones and sepulchral pedals of a mighty organ, and the tension-filled score that follows is grim and at times almost brutal. Hitchcock, feeling it was too “dark and cruel,” turned it down and hired celebrated British composer Ron Goodwin (MURDER, SHE SAID, BATTLE OF BRITAIN, WHERE EAGLES DARE, SQUADRON 633) to compose a lighter, yet still suspenseful, score. For the main title, a panoramic shot over the Thames, Goodwin wrote a majestic melody ornamented with trumpets and timpani, in the best English tradition of pomp and circumstance.

FRENZY was the only completely rejected score in Henry Mancini’s long career, and also one of the most famous and requested Goodwin scores over the ensuing decades. Neither of them, however, have previously been officially released in any form until today.

This 2-LP collection has been painstakingly produced, restored, and mastered by Mike Matessino from stereo and mono elements vaulted at Universal Pictures, with the collaboration of both the Ron Goodwin and Henry Mancini estates.

This special edition features an exclusive, in-depth essay by writer and composer Deniz Cordell packaged in a deluxe tip-on gatefold and pressed in audiophile 180-Gram black vinyl.


1. Main Title (From the Motion Picture ‘Frenzy’)
2. Covent Garden
3. Frenzy
4. Arrival At Brenda’s Flat
5. In The Salvation Army Hostel
6. Death Of Brenda
7. Fugitive From the Coburg Hotel
8. A Talk in the Park
9. A Spree De Corpse
10. Murder Flashback
11. Escape and Retribution
12. Frenzy (End Title)
13. Poem
14. Juke Box
15. Murder Flashback (Alternate)
16. Frenzy (End Title) (Film Version Edit)
17. Prologue
18. My Tie Is Your Tie
19. My Kind Of Woman
20. Son Of My Kind Of Woman
21. Exit Oscar Wilde
22. Big Drag For Babs
23. Hot Potatoes
24. Babs Grabs
25. The Inspector Thinks
26. Rusk On Candid Camera
27. Off to Rusk’s Place
28. End Credits / End Rusk
29. Posh For Two
30. Tijuana On Thames
31. Prologue (Alternate)
32. Babs Grabs (Alternate)




View full details