Skip to product information
1 of 2

Ffa Coffi Pawb

Hei Vidal! [Japanese Import]

Hei Vidal! [Japanese Import]

Ara Deg | CAT #: ARDG1LP

  • BACKORDER NOTICE Please read our policy carefully
  • Est. Shipping Date: 1-6 Weeks
Regular price $41.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $41.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • Limited Edition
  • 1xLP pressed on Clear Vinyl
  • Originally released in 1992
  • Third album by the DIY Cymraeg pop band


ARTIST: Ffa Coffi Pawb
LABEL: Ara Deg

  • Rock
  • J-Rock


Originally released in 1992, Hei Vidal! is the third album by the revolutionary DIY Cymraeg pop band Ffa Coffi Pawb. Formed in Bethesda in 1986 by sixteen-year-old friends Gruff Rhys and Rhodri Puw (later joined by Gruff’s Super Furry Animals’ bandmates Dafydd Ieuan and Dewi Emlyn).

Made by a bunch of 21 and 22-year-olds, Hei Vidal! is an album that distills the band’s obsessions with early ’70s power-pop (all the B’s from Bowie, Bolan, and Big Star) as well as Neu! and My Bloody Valentine into a sound that predates the fuzzed out return to glam heralded by Oasis a few years later. It merges motorik grooves over saturated shoe-gazing fuzz with impressionistic studio manipulation, orchestral synthesizer arrangements, and brutal yet surreal imagery and wordplay in the Welsh language.

Having signed their songs over to a local publisher who eventually disappeared off the face of the Earth, Ffa Coffi Pawb’s music has been out of print for decades (with the exception of the 2004 compilation album Am Byth, released on the SFA-associated Placid Casual label). After untangling a complicated web of time, Hei Vidal! will be available on streaming services and vinyl for the first time having only been on cassette and very few CD copies on its original release on Ankst in 1992. The reissue marks the 30th anniversary of the band’s final show at Builth Wells Memorial Hall in August 1993 (supported by a young Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci).

Hei Vidal! track Ffarout is available now on all streaming platforms, with a b-side Tocyn, a cover of the Bethesda-based band Brân’s primitive sounding 1974 glam rock stomp the last song Ffa Coffi Pawb recorded, released on an Ankst compilation album in 1993.

Gruff Rhys on Hei Vidal! “We made the record in our early 20s and it was a dream-pop distillation of our early 1970’s Glam, power-pop & Motorik obsessions - combined no doubt by our devotion to shoe-gazing contemporaries from the Creation label, American college rock, and our heroes of the Welsh language underground like Datblygu, John Cale, and Y Cyrff. The nonsensical album title is a quote from the song Colli’r Goriad and the Vidal in question perhaps a hallucinated amalgamation of Gore Vidal and Vidal Sassoon; both of which were omnipresent personalities on early 90’s TV, one as a pundit the other a seemingly rolling TV shampoo advert.”


1. Clymhalio
2. Ffarout
3. Profion Moddion
4. Wyneb i Waered
5. Dilyn Fy Nhrwyn
6. Colli'r Goriad
7. Arwynebol Melyn
8. Sega Segur
9. Helo Traeth
10. Pelydr Secs
11. Ofn:Cwn
12. Lluchia Dy Fflachlwch Drosda i




View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
ARDG1LP - Ffa Coffi Pawb - Hei Vidal!
$41.99/ea $0.00