Skip to product information
1 of 11

Lou Reed

Words & Music, May 1965 Standard Edition

Words & Music, May 1965 Standard Edition

Light in the Attic Records | CAT #: LITA 188

  • Please read our policy carefully
  • Packaged with care in Whiplash Mailer or Equivalent
  • Ships within 3-7 Business Days
Regular price $42.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $42.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • All tracks previously unreleased
  • Produced in partnership with Laurie Anderson and the Lou Reed Archive
  • Inaugural release in Light in the Attic’s Lou Reed Archive Series
  • Features the earliest-known recordings of “I’m Waiting for the Man,” “Pale Blue Eyes" and “Heroin" as made famous by The Velvet Underground
  • Includes seven unheard Lou Reed compositions
  • Remastered from the original analog tapes by GRAMMY®-nominated engineer John Baldwin
  • Package designed by multi-GRAMMY®-winning artist Masaki Koike
  • Vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Special Limited Color Edition (pressed on Bright Yellow Wax)
  • LP includes a 28-page booklet (CD 60-page) featuring lyrics, archival photos, and liner notes by Greil Marcus, Don Fleming, and Jason Stern
  • Tracks 1-10: Special Color LP Edition / Standard LP Edition


ARTIST: Lou Reed
LABEL: Light in the Attic Records

  • Rock
  • Americana
  • Pop
  • Folk / Country


“To hear a tape containing their earliest demos, recorded on May 11, 1965, and locked away until now, is to hear traces of things rarely associated with The Velvet Underground: blues and folk, earthy and traditional, uncertain and hesitant… yet bristling with that rusty, caustic, Lou Reed spirit. It is a revelation.” – Will Hodgkinson, MOJO

Light in the Attic Records, in cooperation withLaurie Anderson, proudly announces the inaugural title in their ongoingLou Reed Archive Series: Words & Music, May 1965. Released in tandem with the late artist’s 80th birthday celebrations, the album offers an extraordinary, unvarnished, and plainly poignant insight into one of America’s true poet-songwriters. Capturing Reed in his formative years, this previously unreleased collection of songs—penned by a young Lou Reed, recorded to tape with the help of future bandmate John Cale, and mailed to himself as a “poor man’s copyright”—remained sealed in its original envelope and unopened for nearly 50 years. Its contents embody some of the most vital, groundbreaking contributions to American popular music committed to tape in the 20th century. Through examination of these songs rooted firmly in the folk tradition, we see clearly Lou’s lasting influence on the development of modern American music – from punk to art-rock and everything in between. A true time capsule, these recordings not only memorialize the nascent sparks of what would become the seeds of the incredibly influential Velvet Underground; they also cement Reed as a true observer with an innate talent for synthesizing and distilling the world around him into pure sonic poetry.

Featuring contributions from Reed’s future bandmate,John Cale, Words & Music, May 1965 presents in their entirety the earliest-known recordings of such historic songs as “Heroin”, “I’m Waiting for the Man”, and “Pale Blue Eyes”—all of which Reed would eventually record and make indelibly influential with the Velvet Underground. Also included are several more previously-unreleased compositions that offer additional insight into Reed’s creative process and early influences. Produced byLaurie Anderson, Don Fleming, Jason Stern, Hal Willner, and Matt Sullivan, the album features newly-remastered audio from the original tape by GRAMMY®-nominated engineer,John Baldwin. Rounding out the package are new liner notes from acclaimed journalist and author, Greil Marcus, plus in-depth archival notes from Don Fleming and Jason Stern, who oversee the Lou Reed Archive, while the release has been designed by multi-GRAMMY®-winning artist Masaki Koike.


1. I'm Waiting For The Man - May 1965 Demo
2. Men Of Good Fortune - May 1965 Demo
3. Heroin - May 1965 Demo
4. Too Late - May 1965 Demo
5. Buttercup Song - May 1965 Demo
6. Walk Alone - May 1965 Demo
7. Buzz Buzz Buzz - May 1965 Demo
8. Pale Blue Eyes - May 1965 Demo
9. Stockpile - May 1965 Demo
10. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams - May 1965 Demo




View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
Words & Music, May 1965 Standard Edition - Lou Reed | Helix Sounds
LP / YellowLITA188-1-YL
LP / YellowLITA188-1-YL
$42.99/ea $0.00
Words & Music, May 1965 Standard Edition - Lou Reed | Helix Sounds
LP / BlackLITA188-1-BK
LP / BlackLITA188-1-BK
Sold Out
$38.99/ea $0.00

View cart

Total items


Product subtotal

Taxes, Discounts and shipping calculated at checkout
View cart