Skip to product information
1 of 2

Marcos Valle & Azymuth

Fly Cruzeiro [Import]

Fly Cruzeiro [Import]

Tidal Waves Music | CAT #: TWM44

  • BACKORDER NOTICE Please read our policy carefully
  • Est. Shipping Date: 1-6 Weeks
Regular price $28.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $28.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • Rare Brazilian Bossa Nova - Latin album
  • Limited Edition - LITA Exclusive of 500 copies
  • 1xLP pressed on 180-Gram Tangerine Orange Vinyl
  • Housed in a Gatefold Jacket with OBI Strip
  • Features an insert with liner notes
  • First vinyl reissue since 1972


ARTIST: Marcos Valle & Azymuth
LABEL: Tidal Waves Music

  • Jazz
  • Bossa Nova
  • Brazilian


Marcos Valle needs little introduction, born in Rio de Janeiro in 1943, Mr. Valle is an award-winning/chart-hitting Brazilian singer, songwriter, and record producer. He was raised on a staple diet of classical, Brazilian popular music, and North American jazz. Marcos Valle grew up to be one of the most influential & innovative musicians of the Bossa Nova period and is regarded as one of the greatest Brazilian artists of all time. He has recorded albums for North American labels such as EMI, Warner Brothers & Verve…cementing his career with a series of tight musical workouts moving seamlessly between funk, samba, soundtracks, soul, jazz, dance, and rock. Valle contributed to some of the most important recordings by artists including Sarah Vaughan, Frank Sinatra, Sergio Mendes, Leon Ware, Chicago, and Airto Moreira. Mr. Valle’s work has been sampled/remixed by major artists from the likes of Jay-Z, Kanye West & Madlib.

One of Valle’s favorite bands to frequently collaborate with was no doubt Azymuth, who took their name from a Valle song!

Azymuth (Bertrami-Malheiros-Conti) started their individual careers in the 1960s in the emergent Bossa nova and jazz scene of Rio, living in the same bohemian block in Copacabana and playing in small bars as session musicians under various other names.

It was the early 1970s when Azymuth really began to cause a stir and Marcos Valle invited them to record on a soundtrack LP he was doing. The unique Azymuth sound was now born: a mix of electronic music, samba, funk, and jazz that they defined as MPB-jazz (MPB stands for Musica Popular Brasileira). Over the decades Azymuth released extremely successful albums (selling millions of copies) on labels such as Polydor, Som Livre and Atlantic. Hitting the charts on multiple occasions, Azymuth played at the Monterrey and Montreux jazz festivals and at venues around the globe.

The band has worked with legendary musicians from Joe Henderson to Stevie Wonder and they’ve also been remixed/sampled by artists such as Flying Lotus,, MF DOOM and Peanut Butter Wolf. Their unique brand of fusion-music has influenced three generations of musicians, DJs, and producers. Music journalists across the spectrum from mainstream to underground, celebrated these raw yet wildly imaginative and musically accomplished tracks that were a revelation of jazz, funk, and disco, with some even stating that the roots of EDM were on display in their early recordings.

On the album we are presenting you (Brazil by Music - Fly Cruzeiro), the listener is getting yet another fantastic early Valle/Azymuth collaboration. Released in 1972, this rare album was pressed and gifted to customers of the ‘Cruzeiro’ airline company. This promotional record came as no surprise because the connection between Cruzeiro Airlines and Valle was very tight (Valle’s father was the manager and his brother was a co-pilot there).

Next to the Valle/Azymuth material present, other songs include some of the all-time best Brazilian standards originally written by renowned artists such as Jorge Ben & Antonio Carlos Jobim. Take a flight with us through this fantastic album and into some of the best Jazz, Funk & Bossa Nova the Brazilian musical landscape has to offer.

Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the first ever vinyl reissue of ‘Fly Cruzeiro’ since its release in 1972 (only 500 copies were pressed upon its original release in 1972). This official reissue is now available as a deluxe 180g TANGERINE COLORED vinyl edition (limited to 500 copies) packaged in a gatefold jacket and also comes with an insert containing rare pictures and liner notes courtesy of Marcos Valle himself.


1. Jingle Cruzeiro
2. Esta Fazendo Um Ano - Aquarela Do Brasil
3. Zazueira - Mas Que Nada
4. Tristeza
5. País Do Futebol
6. Até Pensei
7. Zanzibar
8. Não Tem Solução - Marina - Rosas
9. Samba De Verão
10. Prenda Minha
11. Asa Branca
12. Wave




View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
TWM44 - Marcos Valle & Azymuth - Fly Cruzeiro (LP Orange)
LP / OrangeTWM44-OR
LP / OrangeTWM44-OR
$28.99/ea $0.00