Skip to product information
1 of 6

Ryuichi Sakamoto

Minamata (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Minamata (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Milan Records | CAT #: 19439840891

  • Please read our policy carefully
  • Packaged with care in Whiplash Mailer or Equivalent
  • Ships within 3-7 Business Days
Regular price $39.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $39.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • 2xLP pressed on 180-Gram Audiophile Classic Black Vinyl
  • Deluxe heavyweight gatefold sleeve with soft laminate finish
  • Insert with liner notes by director Andrew Levitas
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Critically acclaimed 2021 drama film, directed by Andrew Levitas and featuring Johnny Depp
  • Score by the legendary and multiple award winner Ryuichi Sakamoto
  • Featuring “One Single Voice”, a brand-new song by Katherine Jenkins


ARTIST: Ryuichi Sakamoto
LABEL: Milan Records
CAT NO: 19439840891

  • Soundtrack
  • Classical
  • Stage & Screen


Based on the book of the same name, Minamata follows war photographer Eugene Smith as he travels Japan documenting the devastating effect of mercury poisoning among coastal communities. His efforts to publicize the suffering caused by corporate malfeasance soon draw the attention of the world to Minamata, the city where the effects of the toxin are most pronounced.

The score is composed by Ryuichi Sakamoto composer, electro-pop pioneer, a buddy to David Bowie, and synthesizer legend. His work since the late 1970s has taken him from the top of the charts. Sakamoto's music has consistently exuded a profound empathy. Whether leading Yellow Magic Orchestra's cheeky pop, collaborating with cranial ambient artists, or, more recently, confronting his own mortality, Sakamoto's music expresses in a few elegant gestures the haunting richness of life.


1. Minamata Piano Theme
2. Into Japan
3. Landscape
4. The Boy
5. Chisso Co.
6. Boy and Camera
7. Hidden Data
8. Blow Up
9. Rally and Persuasion
10. Meeting
11. Offer
12. Commitment
13. Fire
14. Sharing
15. Rising
16. Chisso Gate
17. Arson Man
18. Suicide
19. Mother and Child
20. Coda
21. Icon
22. One Single Voice – Katherine Jenkins




Ryuichi Sakamoto was a genius Japanese musician, composer, and producer who has been active in the music industry for over four decades. He first gained international recognition as a member of the electronic music group Yellow Magic Orchestra in the late 1970s and has since become known for his work as a solo artist and renowned for his prolific film scores and collaborations with other musicians.

Sakamoto's music was known for its experimental, avant-garde sound, which incorporated elements of electronic, classical, and traditional Japanese music. He released numerous albums throughout his career, including the critically acclaimed "Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence" soundtrack, which featured his hit single "Forbidden Colours."

In addition to his music career, Sakamoto was involved in a number of environmental and humanitarian causes. He was a vocal advocate for sustainable energy and worked with organizations such as Greenpeace and the Rainforest Foundation.

Sakamoto was also recognized for his contributions to music and culture. He won multiple awards, including an Academy Award for Best Original Score for his work on the film "The Last Emperor," and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Yellow Magic Orchestra.

On March 28, 2023, Sakamoto passed away at the age of 71 from a long battle with cancer. His influence on music and culture will continue to be felt for years to come.

Learn more about Ryuichi Sakamoto here.


  1. Thousand Knives (1978)
  2. B-2 Unit (1980)
  3. Left-Handed Dream (1981)
  4. Ongaku Zukan (1984)
  5. Esperanto (1985)
  6. Futurista (1986)
  7. Illustrated Musical Encyclopedia (1986)
  8. Neo Geo (1987)
  9. Beauty (1989)
  10. Heartbeat (1991)
  11. Sweet Revenge (1994)
  12. Smoochy (1995)
  13. 1996 (1996)
  14. Discord (1997)
  15. BTTB (1999)
  16. Comica (2002)
  17. Elephantism (2002)
  18. Chasm (2004)
  19. Out of Noise (2009)
  20. Playing the Piano (2009)
  21. Three (2013)
  22. Async (2017)
  23. 12 (2023)
View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
19439840891 - Ryuichi Sakamoto - Minamata (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
2LP / Black19439840891-BK
2LP / Black19439840891-BK
$39.99/ea $0.00