Skip to product information
1 of 2

Various Artists

Afrosonique, Vol. 1 [Import]

Afrosonique, Vol. 1 [Import]

Africa Seven | CAT #: ASVN041

Regular price $39.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $39.99 USD
Sale Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • Imported
  • Released by Africa Seven
  • 1xLP pressed on Classic Black Vinyl


ARTIST: Various Artists
LABEL: Africa Seven

  • African
  • Afrobeat


Launched in early 2015 by a collective of crate diggers, Afro music-heads, and vinyl-buying obsessives, Africa Seven's aim is to spread the love and knowledge for African music in all its forms. In the wake of this effort, Afrosonique Vol.1 is the ideal first installment of a series of compilations bridging African tracks from the 70s and 80s with the most talented artists of today into a remix and re-edit series.

Compiled by veteran UK producer Tony Thorpe (Moody Boyz, KLF), one of the most important figures of the UK dance underground movement, the album brings together a rich ensemble of producers and artists from different genres and music scenes. From Warp's long-time signee PlaidDJ Food, and top DJs John Talabot & Pional to broken beat legend IG Culture, the compilation promises to bring a modern twist to Africa's most iconic tunes. This selection of artists also includes great names of the likes of Deep Medi's Silkie and Appleblim from the historical dubstep night FWD/gt;/gt; at Plastic People. A younger generation of talents like Marcel Lune, Jabru, Redpine & Solo, and EVM128 has also taken part in this cutting-edge project, bringing its own personal touch to this unique compilation. Using his most famous alias 'Moody Boyz', Thorpe himself has added his own artistic signature, remixing the iconic Bunzu Soundz's Zinabu - a rolling cut of the finest UK Afro-dub house.

Africa remains the key theme and unifying principle of this work. With no multi-tracks available, the artists have gone through an incredible work of editing and overdubbing - almost remixing the original works. The result is a frenetic and fresh blend of styles ranging from modern Afro-jazz cuts to heavyweight dancefloor gear, almost spiritual hypnotic club anthems, and low-tempo dreamscapes.

Originals have been picked up from Africa Seven's ever-expanding catalog of reissues from the '70s and '80s hailing from Cameroon, Nigeria, and Sierra Leone among other African countries. The selection includes rare tracks such as Bunzu Soundz 'Zinabu', Manu Dibango 'Les Cavaliers', and Afro National's 'Jokenge'.

In a time in which African music is coming back prominently as one of the primary influences of electronic music, Afrosonique Vol.1 effortlessly goes full circle bringing together the original energy of African classics with the disruptive talent of today's innovators.

The Ransom Note - Premiere of "Les Cavaliers (Plaid remix) confirmed for May 10

DJ Mag - Review confirmed

Phonica Records (blog) - Premiere of "Sekelimania (Nku_Bilam) (Jabru Edit Over Dub)" confirmed for 11th of April

NPR's Recommended Dose - Included IG Culture's version of Jokenge in this month's edition


1. Afro National - Jokenge (Ig Culture Edit)
2. Ekambi Brillant - Soul Castle (Silkie Edit Over Dub)
3. M'Bamina - Mosi Zole (Evm Edit Overdub)
4. M'Bamina - Mbongui (Marcel Lune Edit Refix)
5. Sorry Bamba - Nani Nani (Appleblim Edit Over Dub)
6. Douglas Mbida - Nnom Mot (Ry9N / Knid Edit Over Dub)
7. Sookie - Rhythm On Rhythm (Dj Food Chop-Up)
8. Ekambi Brillant - Afrika Afrika (John Talabot / Pional "Lost Scripts" Rerub)
9. Manu Dibango - Les Cavaliers (Plaid Edit Over Dub)
10. Pasteur Lappe - Sekelimania (Nku Bilam) [Jabru Edit Over Dub]
11. Bunzu Soundz - Zinabu (Moody Boyz Edit Refix)
12. Bozambo - Bgklouala-Niklouala (Redpine /Amp; Solo Edit Over Dub)




View full details

Quick Order Form

Your cart
Variant Variant total Quantity Price Variant total
Afrosonique, Vol. 1 - Various Artists | Helix Sounds
LP / BlackASVN041-BK
LP / BlackASVN041-BK
Sold Out
$39.99/ea $0.00